Warhammer Community
Announcing Total War: Warhammer 40,000! ↗
Official announcement. Launch factions, platforms and Stompa mention.
SOURCE ARCHIVE / RELEASE VERIFIED
These are the sources used in this guide. Publication dates and the dates we checked them are recorded separately. Use the fact records to see what each source supports, its scope and its individual check date. Report a correction if an official update changes an answer.
Use the official CA news and announcement forum or the official Steam news feed for dated updates. For selected original footage, use the official video guide or Total War’s YouTube channel.
Players can discuss questions in the CA discussion forum or Steam discussions. A user’s reply is separate from a staff announcement. Development news and test feedback are not release-build patch notes or verified final rules.
Warhammer Community
Official announcement. Launch factions, platforms and Stompa mention.
Creative Assembly / SEGA
Store rechecked on 12 October: not yet available, release TBA. Requirements list Windows 10/11 64-bit only; CPU, GPU, RAM and storage are not specified. Re-read 21 October for the long-tail page release; existing dated claims are not automatically refreshed. Re-read 2 November 2026 for the English release-date update: Steam still shows To be announced and not yet available. Only the release-listing claim was refreshed; PC requirements and other claims retain their own verification dates.
Creative Assembly
Community page displays 17 September, but discusses a 14 September deadline. Original publication date is not treated as confirmed. Re-read 21 October for the long-tail page release; existing dated claims are not automatically refreshed.
The Total War Team on Steam
18 September notice rechecked through the official Steam news feed and original CA staff post on 21 October. Successful applicants are contacted with their individual schedule and access instructions; completing the survey does not guarantee access. This is a dated process notice, not evidence that private invitations have or have not been sent.
Creative Assembly
Migrated page appears dated September despite December announcement copy. Publication date left unknown. Re-read 21 October for the long-tail page release; existing dated claims are not automatically refreshed.
SEGA
Product table lists a planned 2027 release and PC (Steam / Epic), PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. A year is a release window, not a dated launch. Re-read 21 October 2026 for the French/German release-date pages; still a 2027 year window, no exact calendar date. Re-read 2 November 2026 for the English release-date update: the release-year evidence remains 2027, with no exact day. Only reverified release/platform claims were refreshed.
SEGA
Dated announcement lists 2027 and the announced platforms. No exact calendar date.
SEGA
Dated announcement reiterates the planned 2027 release and PC (Steam / Epic), PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. Re-read 21 October 2026 for the French/German release-date pages; still a 2027 year window, no exact calendar date. Re-read 2 November 2026 for the English release-date update: the release-year evidence remains 2027, with no exact day. Only reverified release/platform claims were refreshed.
Creative Assembly
The official opening post answers the release-year question with 2027. Forum replies are not evidence; beta timing is a separate question. Re-read 21 October 2026 for the French/German release-date pages; still a 2027 year window, no exact calendar date. Re-read 2 November 2026 for the English release-date update: the release-year evidence remains 2027, with no exact day. Only reverified release/platform claims were refreshed.
The Total War Team on Steam
Public news feed checked on 12 October. Latest visible game-specific notice is the 18 September eligibility survey; no public beta start date was found in this feed. This check does not reveal private invitations.
Creative Assembly
Public archive checked on 12 October alongside Steam. Migrated December material displays September dates; archive order is not proof of a new announcement.
PAX Australia
Announced 9–11 October event at MCEC, Melbourne, with three Space Marines demo scenarios. Event access is separate from Steam closed-beta selection; this does not confirm public download access.
Creative Assembly
Only the Warhammer 40,000 section is used: an in-development planet and city, arid and ice battlefields. Other sections concern different Total War games and are not evidence for 40K mechanics.
Total War / Creative Assembly
Official Total War channel, linked by CA announcement. Dates normalized to UTC; metadata timestamp is 11 December US Pacific / 12 December UTC. CA labels the footage pre-alpha; cinematic material is not gameplay evidence.
Total War / Creative Assembly
Official Total War channel; published 30 April UTC. Official description sets 40K chapter at 1:30:29 and Community Inbox at 1:52:55; footage in development and not final. CA recap on 1 May and SEGA recap on 15 May are distinct publication dates.
Total War / Creative Assembly
Official Total War channel, 6m14s. Timestamp is 10 July US Pacific / 11 July UTC. Description identifies a planetary defence in the Armageddon theatre, Astra Militarum versus invading Orks. A selected development showcase is not a final ruleset.
Total War / Creative Assembly
Official verified Total War channel. UTC publication date; metadata duration PT75M45S. Live battle playthrough followed by discussion of ranged combat. Video description and staff notice verified; not a final mechanics or balance catalog.
Total War / Creative Assembly
Official verified Total War channel. UTC publication date; metadata PT90M54S and player 1:30:53 differ by one second, so the watch guide uses approximately 91 minutes. Selected Gamescom development build; limited customisation. YouTube auto-generated Summary is not used as developer evidence. Re-read 21 October for the long-tail page release; existing dated claims are not automatically refreshed.
Creative Assembly
Staff author CA_Josh announces an Astra Militarum vs Orks full live battle, followed by cover, strafing and equipment discussions. Original dated staff post, not community replies; no final values or unit eligibility table.
Creative Assembly
Staff author CA_Josh announces a campaign slice, several battles and limited customisation in the Gamescom build. This is a selected demo, not a full launch campaign or editor catalog.
SEGA / Creative Assembly
Only the Warhammer 40,000 section supports the space-battle statement. Launch inclusion undecided, core experience prioritised, ship warfare representation under consideration. Future intent is not a dated delivery commitment. Adjacent Medieval III co-op discussion is not evidence of 40K co-op.
Warhammer Community
Only the computer-game paragraphs confirm Nazdreg at launch and his early narrative role around Armageddon. Earlier weapon, damage, Deep Strike and other rules in this article concern the tabletop game and are excluded. Original July announcement, not October news; no game build or platform-specific test is established.
SEGA / PlayStation Store
Dynamic PS5 regional listing: up to 8 online players with PS Plus, online optional, one local player. Does not identify campaign co-op, crossplay or PC/Xbox counts; not a hands-on result.
Deep Silver / KING Art
Comparison reference for a different game. Official description: base construction, resource control, squad upgrades, veterancy and 70+ campaign missions. Root product URL redirected to English Australia; no price or faction-count inference adopted.
KING Art / Deep Silver
Comparison reference, not Total War evidence. Developer/publisher and Features list Single-player, Online PvP and Online Co-op. A category does not specify every co-op mode or player limit. Product timing remains in its own current store.
Creative Assembly / SEGA
Identity comparison only: the fantasy Warhammer trilogy and its setting. No mechanics, player counts, units or hardware data transferred to Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000.
KING Art
Four solo/co-op faction campaigns and non-linear decisions. Comparison evidence for Dawn of War IV only.
Deep Silver / KING Art
World-map mission choice and consequences; edited in-engine trailer, not a complete playthrough.
Deep Silver / KING Art
Official publisher labels developer-presented 1v1 match and settings. Linked YouTube title/channel/description read; not full-video or final-balance verification. Publisher news index and YouTube display dates differ; no publication day inferred.
Creative Assembly / SEGA
Localized public listing re-read 21 October. Language parameter is not proof of France/Germany storefront country or checkout eligibility. No transaction, login or region change performed.
Creative Assembly / SEGA
Localized public listing re-read 21 October. Language parameter is not proof of France/Germany storefront country or checkout eligibility. No transaction, login or region change performed.
These records support the summaries on this site. An announcement describes planned content; a beta record describes that test. Neither is a verified final-build database.
Four factions are announced for launch: Space Marines, Astra Militarum, Orks and Aeldari.
Steam lists the release date as “To be announced”.
The announced platforms are PC via Steam and Epic Games Store, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S.
The announced Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 closed-beta registration period ended on 14 September 2026. The 18 September notice asked previously registered players to complete an emailed eligibility survey; completing it did not guarantee access.
The 18 September 2026 notice describes participant selection after survey responses are reviewed, with successful applicants receiving the test schedule and access instructions separately.
The closed beta is PC-only through Steam. It includes part of the tutorial, two opening Space Marines campaigns, multiplayer and custom battles, and advanced customisation.
Space Marines, Astra Militarum, Orks and Custom Factions are listed for beta multiplayer and custom battles. Aeldari are excluded from this test.
Space Marines are described as a small, heavily armoured force built around powerful individual warriors.
Astra Militarum combine massed soldiers with tanks and artillery.
Orks field large mobs, unpredictable weapons and ramshackle war machines.
Aeldari are presented as fast, elusive fighters using psychic power and precision weapons.
The galactic campaign combines turn-based expansion, planet capture, fleet upgrades and a war economy with real-time ground battles.
The announcement describes stronghold development, orbital bombardment and battles across planetary installations and regions.
Army customisation includes names, colours and heraldry, alongside traits and tactics.
Warhammer Community explicitly identifies a Stompa in the announcement trailer.
The announced release window is 2027. SEGA lists a planned release year, not a specific day or month.
No exact release date is listed in the SEGA product page or Steam store checked on 2 November 2026.
The public notices checked on 12 October 2026 describe survey review followed by participant selection. No public beta start date was found in the official Steam feed or CA news archive reviewed.
Creative Assembly’s closed-beta notice describes a planned developer livestream for players who are not selected. That notice does not give a broadcast date.
The Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 Steam listing checked on 21 October 2026 shows Windows 10 64-bit under minimum requirements and Windows 11 64-bit under recommended requirements. It does not list CPU, GPU, RAM or storage requirements.
Chaos Space Marines are not a launch faction. Creative Assembly includes them in future plans, but the cited FAQ gives no release date or DLC order.
PAX Aus announced a Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 event demo for 9–11 October 2026 at MCEC in Melbourne, with three scenarios featuring Space Marines.
The May Show & Tell recap describes an in-development planet and three battlefield previews: a dense city, an arid biome and an ice biome. Biomes and deployment zones are intended to vary battlefield layouts.
The Steam description announces destructible battlefields, reinforcements and support abilities including artillery, aerial attacks and laser strikes. Terrain impacts can create new cover and tactical opportunities.
The official description includes established sub-factions and warlords alongside custom armies. Personalisation covers names, colours and iconography; gameplay choices include tactical abilities, traits and wargear.
Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 is a strategy video game developed by Creative Assembly and published by SEGA, set in the Warhammer 40,000 universe.
The official announce trailer includes pre-alpha footage. The Show & Tell stream describes its footage as in development and not final; its Warhammer 40,000 chapter begins at 1:30:29.
The official BiliBili World gameplay video presents Astra Militarum helping defend a civilised world in the Armageddon theatre against an Ork invasion. The upload is a 6-minute-14-second development showcase.
Creative Assembly states its intent to support modding through Steam Workshop from launch. Official modding tools are planned for later because of the new Warcore engine; the FAQ gives no tool-release date.
Creative Assembly says there will be no pre-order DLC. Its announcement FAQ defers details of pre-order bonuses; this does not establish a current price, a bonus list or an open pre-order.
Creative Assembly says there will be no separate blood pack, with blood and dismemberment part of its vision for this setting. The FAQ does not provide a final content rating or parental-controls specification.
The official Ranged Combat Alpha Strike replay shows a live battle playthrough and developer discussion of ranged combat. Its announcement identifies the Astra Militarum versus Orks battle and follow-up topics including cover, strafing and equipment.
The official Gamescom Edition Alpha Strike replay presents the development build taken to Gamescom. Its announcement describes a campaign slice, several battles and a limited version of army customisation.
In the 24 March 2026 developer Q&A, Creative Assembly described space battles as a future ambition with launch inclusion undecided. It prioritised the core Total War experience and said it was considering how to represent ship warfare. That answer does not establish a release date or final space-combat rules.
Warhammer Community confirmed on 20 July 2026 that Nazdreg is a key character you can fight alongside or against when Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 launches. He also features in early in-game narrative tied to the battles around Armageddon.
The Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 Steam Features section checked on 21 October 2026 lists Single-player and Online PvP. Popular user-defined tags are displayed separately and do not define a cooperative campaign.
The English Thailand PlayStation Store listing for Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 says up to eight online players on PS5 with PS Plus, with online play optional and one local player listed. It does not identify which modes use that online limit.
The Steam product page, English Thailand PS5 listing and CA closed-beta notice checked here do not specify a cooperative campaign, crossplay compatibility or PC/Xbox multiplayer player counts for Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000. Unspecified is not the same as ruled out.
Dawn of War IV’s official overview describes classic real-time strategy with base construction, resource-point control, squad weapon and ability upgrades, and unit veterancy. It advertises over 70 campaign missions; that count does not establish campaign playtime.
Dawn of War IV is developed by KING Art and published by Deep Silver. Its Steam Features section lists Single-player, Online PvP and Online Co-op. Those categories do not by themselves establish every cooperative mode or player limit.
Warhammer III belongs to the fantasy Total War: WARHAMMER trilogy; Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000 is a separate game set in the science-fantasy Warhammer 40,000 universe. Their official descriptions identify different settings; one is not a later campaign for the other.
In the 26 August 2026 Gamescom Alpha Strike, the developers describe districts as areas of army movement and control within regions. At 47:02, the highlighted district is explained as a controlled area that an entering enemy must fight over; capturing the wider region involves its capital. This is the development presentation, not a complete final movement ruleset.
The Gamescom Alpha Strike describes a star system containing multiple planets as the closest equivalent to a traditional campaign at 21:15–21:31, then introduces an interconnected Crusade Theatre at 44:48–45:20. It does not establish a final campaign-hours estimate or promise that a single planet can always be selected as a standalone campaign.
At 38:38–39:12 in the Gamescom Alpha Strike, the developers explicitly identify the demonstrated army customisation as a limited event version, showing a basic three-colour scheme rather than the full intended launch editor. The following discussion separates custom chapter colours from warlord and faction-trait choices.
KING Art’s announcement describes four full single-player/co-op campaigns, one for each Dawn of War IV faction, with non-linear decisions feeding an overarching narrative. This confirms announced campaign co-op for Dawn of War IV, not for Total War: WARHAMMER 40,000.
Deep Silver’s Back to War trailer breakdown describes missions appearing across the territories of Dawn of War IV’s world map, with players choosing which mission to tackle and some choices having consequences. That campaign decision layer should not be confused with Total War’s announced turn-based galactic sandbox.
Deep Silver presents the Orks-versus-Necrons Battlefield Report as an advanced 1v1 Annihilation match between its creative director and QA lead, including configurable match settings and ongoing development changes. It is a useful developer-presented battle preview, not final balance evidence.
The French-language Steam listing checked on 21 October 2026 shows “À déterminer”, says the game is not yet available and offers wishlisting. It lists French interface and subtitles, but no full audio in that language.
The German-language Steam listing checked on 21 October 2026 shows “Bevorstehende Ankündigung”, says the game is not yet available and offers wishlisting. It lists German interface and subtitles, but no full audio in that language.
The key visual and four faction portraits come from the official SEGA game website ↗, checked on 22 September 2026. They are promotional illustrations, not gameplay screenshots. Artwork rights remain with their respective owners, including Games Workshop, Creative Assembly and SEGA.
This independent guide is not an official SEGA or Warhammer website. Displaying these images does not imply endorsement.
The release-date briefing reports the current 2027 · exact date TBA status; earlier SEGA and Steam records remain dated evidence.
“Confirmed” means a source supports the statement within its stated scope. It does not mean that the beta matches the final release or that an announcement cannot change.
Claims carry their own game version and verification date. A beta claim never becomes a launch-build claim merely because release status changes. Unknown build numbers and unverified statistics remain unknown.
When a source is unclear, this guide leaves the detail unknown. Community observations may help locate official material, but are not used here to establish unit stats or gameplay rules.